Literacy Project


Literacy Project

This project connects volunteers from the agricultural community to local classrooms! Trained volunteers read the featured book and complete an activity with the students. The 2018 Spring Literacy Project registration is now closed. Sign-up for the 2019 project by clicking the applicable button below.

About the Literacy Project

The goal of AITC’s Literacy Project is to improve both the reading and agricultural literacy of Oregon students in grades K-4. Each year a new agriculturally-themed book is chosen and a lesson is developed that reinforces the message of the book. Then hundreds of enthusiastic, trained volunteers bring in-class field trips to classrooms throughout Oregon.

The book this year, Apples to Oregon, gives a fun-filled glimpse into the real story of how Oregon’s first orchards began and the courageous efforts by America’s early farmers. The delightful illustrations capture the imaginations of young and old readers alike.


Find more information about the Literacy Project here!

How the Literacy Project Works

The AITC Literacy Project runs March 5 through the end of the school year. Volunteers schedule times to visit schools and read to students grades K-4 and do a hands-on lesson that meets Oregon standards to reinforce the book’s message. Start to finish, the reading and lesson take 45 minutes. The program is free and all materials are completely prepared by AITC. Each classroom receives a copy of the book.

A copy of the Lesson Plan can be found here: 2018 Literacy Project

2018 Spring Literacy Project Training Video

Step 1 – Introduce yourself and explain the 6 F’s of Oregon agriculture.

Step 2 – Read the book.

Step 3 – Introduce and lead the activity.

Step 4 – Review and pass out the bookmarks.

Requested Schools

Below are schools that have already requested a volunteer. The schools are broken up into one of five areas: Western Oregon, Portland-Area, Central Oregon, Southern Oregon, and Eastern Oregon. If you are interested in working with one of these schools, please contact Jessica Jansen at or 541-737-8629.

Western Oregon


Central Oregon

  • Bend International School
  • Vern Patrick Elementary School

Southern Oregon

Eastern Oregon

Washington County

After the Project

Thank you for participating in the 2018 Literacy Project! Once you have presented to your classrooms or had a volunteer visit please click on the button below to fill out the correct Participation Form.

AITC Literacy Project Sponsors